Carver County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Sheriff Kamerud, Attorney Metz, Commissioners Workman and Lynch All Sworn In

Maluchnik Voted Chair, Ische Vice Chair

Post Date:01/08/2019 2:00 PM

CHASKA, MINN.—Judge Michael D. Wentzell swore in new Sheriff Jason Kamerud while County Attorney Mark Metz and Commissioners Tom Workman and Tim Lynch also accepted the oath of office during the Board’s regular meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Additionally, the Board of Commissioners voted Randy Maluchnik as chair and James Ische vice chair for 2019.

Kamerud won this November’s Sheriff’s election after serving as Chief Deputy the past six years under outgoing Sheriff Jim Olson, who retired. Kamerud brings 28 years with the Carver County Sheriff’s Office to his new position, including the last 12 as part of the Sheriff’s administrative team. He earned his degree from the Northwestern University School of Police Staff & Command. He went on to get his master’s degree in organizational leadership from Concordia University.

County Attorney Mark Metz took the oath of office as well, beginning his third term in office. Previously the assistant county attorney in Carver and McLeod County, Metz first was elected Carver County Attorney in 2010 and again in 2014.

Metz’s and Kamerud’s terms run through 2022.

Workman and Lynch accepted their oath for their Commissioner positions. Representing District 2 (Parts of City of Chanhassen and a part of City of Victoria), Workman has served on the Carver County Board since 2002. He previously served in the Minnesota House of Representatives and on the Chanhassen City Council. Lynch, representing District 4 (Cities of Waconia, Watertown, and Mayer; Townships of Hollywood, Watertown and Waconia) Lynch has served as a Commissioner since 2004. He previously served on the Hollywood Township Board of Supervisors. Both Commissioners’ new terms expire in 2022.
Return to full list >>